Nebraska State College System
Board of Trustees’ Scholarships Awarded


LINCOLN – More than 100 Nebraska State College System (NSCS) Board of Trustees' Scholarships were recently awarded to graduating high school seniors throughout the state. These full-tuition scholarships are renewable and worth nearly $14,000 in four years. The scholarship recipients will attend Chadron, Peru, and Wayne State Colleges this fall.


Chair of the NSCS Board of Trustees Bill Roskens said, “Our scholarships provide talented Nebraska high school students with the opportunity to pursue an outstanding college education right here at home. The faculty and staff at Chadron, Peru and Wayne State are committed to seeing every student succeed.”


The Board of Trustees’ Scholarship recipients scored at least a 25 on the ACT or 1130 on the SAT college entrance exams and are Nebraska residents. They also provided written recommendation letters from high school teachers or administrators. The recipients were selected by a committee at each college.


The NSCS Board of Trustees includes: Board Chair Bill Roskens of Omaha, Vice Chair and Fiscal and Facilities Chair Larry Teahon of Chadron, Chair of the Academic, Personnel and Student Affairs Committee Gary Bieganski of Chadron, Enrollment and Marketing Chair Michelle Suarez of Lincoln, Carter “Cap” Peterson of Wayne, Floyd Vrtiska of Table Rock, and Roger Breed of Omaha, who is also the State Commissioner of Education.


Recipients of the Board of Trustees’ Scholarships are listed below by college, name, hometown and high school:


Chadron State College

Tessa Armstrong, Bayard, Bayard High School

Dalton Blomme, Minden, Minden High School

Lindsey Briggs, Alliance, Alliance High School

Devan Collins, Alliance, Alliance High School
Daniel Edmonston, Alliance, Alliance High School
Heather Glines, Grand Island, Grand Island High School

Bryce Harrington, Grand Island, Northwest High School

Macey Huston, Loomis, Loomis High School

Brett Klein, Scottsbluff, Scottsbluff High School

Rahne Kunzman, Alliance, Alliance High School

Torie Lindsey, Gordon, Gordon Rushville High School

Joshua Lydic, Brady, Maxwell Public School

Kristin Miller, Scottsbluff, Scottsbluff High School

Rebecca Oligmueller, West Point, Central Catholic High School

Curtis Perriotte-Olson, Wallace, Wallace High School

Peter Raun, Minden, Minden High School

Nicole Ritzen, Chadron, Chadron High School

Irene Saner, Dunning, Sandhills High School

Thomas Schmidt, St. Paul, St. Paul High School

Adam Schwimmer, Lincoln, Lincoln Southeast High School

Kate Seifer, Paxton, McPherson County High School

Zachary Sibbel, O’Neill, St. Mary’s High School

Brandon Stenger, North Platte, Maxwell Public School

Paul Stuart, Kearney, Kearney Catholic High School

Megan Svoboda, Seward, Centennial High School

KayCee Upton, Beaver Crossing, Centennial High School

Rayna Waggener, Alliance, Alliance High School

Karlene Wagner, Ainsworth, Ainsworth High School


Peru State College

Kelvin Arent, Maywood, Maywood High School

Austin Barnes, Murdock, Elmwood-Murdock High School

Rebecca Bartlett, Crete, Crete High School

Allyson Bennett, Nebraska City, Nebraska City High School

Ashlynn Blomstedt, Wellfleet, Maywood High School

Kari Brunges, Crab Orchard, Lewiston Consolidated High School

Erin Buri, Lincoln, Lincoln East High School

Dayne Burrows, Falls City, Sacred Heart High School

Tyler Dale, Chappell, Creek Valley High School

Brian Duhacek, Papillion, Daniel J Gross High School

Kori Duntz, Weeping Water, Weeping Water High School

Joseph Fauver, Springfield, Platteview High School

Jessica Flippin, Morrill, Morrill High School

Tyler Hoffman, Omaha, Millard North High School

Sydney Irvin, Omaha, Northwest High School

Zachary Lariviere, Bellevue, Bellevue East High School

Kelsie Lewis, Madison, Madison High School

Karly McAferty, Pawnee City, Pawnee City High School

Sarah Mielke, Bellevue, Bellevue East High School

Trevin Nelson, Lincoln, Lincoln Southwest High School

Tyler Nutsch, Beatrice, Beatrice Senior High School
Tim Oehring, Lincoln, Lincoln East High School

Miles Overland, Bellevue Bellevue West High School

Ember Paulson, Palmyra, Palmyra High School

Brett Potter, Nehawka, Creighton Preparatory School

Kelsy Potter, Omaha, Lourdes Central Catholic High School

Hannah Reeves, Omaha, Waverly High School

Jonah Santo, Verdon, Sacred Heart High School

Seth Sejkora, Burchard, Pawnee City Public School

Cole Sharp, Union, Nebraska City High School

Shelby Steele, Burwell, Burwell High School

Casandra Taylor, Bassett, Rock County High School

Jarrett Willet, Wymore, Southern High School

Michaela Wolverton, Crete, Crete High School

Angela Zarybnicky, Odell, Diller-Odell High School


Wayne State College

Kristin Allen, Bloomfield, Bloomfield High School

Christine Bauer, Fremont, Fremont High School

Derek Becker, Norfolk, Madison High School

Luke Conrad, Valley, Douglas County West High School

Seth Dallman, Wilber, Wilber-Clatonia Public High School

Jordan Davis, Fairbury, Fairbury High School

Mickey Doerr, Bloomfield, Bloomfield High School

DJ Dunklau, Carroll, Wayne High School

Nicole Echtenkamp, Waverly, Waverly High School

Audra Faeh, Marquette, Nebraska Christian High School

Kristen Halvorson, Omaha, Millard North High School

Kayla Harouff, Columbus, Columbus Senior High School

Megan Heiser, Lynch, Lynch High School

Rachel Hogan, LaVista, Millard South High School

Michael Horton, Bellevue, Papillion-LaVista South High School

Nicholas Kolar, Pilger, Wisner-Pilger High School

Katie Kuhl, Elk Creek, Johnson County Central High School

Amber Kutnik, Cambridge, Cambridge High School

Krista LaBruzzo, Stanton, Stanton High School

Michael Lafleur, Madison, Madison High School

Stephanie Larsen, Bancroft, Bancroft-Rosalie High School

Adam Lee, Sutherland, Sutherland High School

Debra McGinty, Hebron, Thayer Central High School

Logan Morris, Genoa, Twin River Public High School

Devin Nygren, Brainard, East Butler High School

Sarah Oltjenbruns, Bloomfield, Bloomfield High School

Kaitlin Pearson, Bennington, Bennington High School

Melanie Placke, St. Libory, St. Paul High School

John Potter, Rising City, Rising City High School

Caitlyn Prince, Winside, Winside Public High School

Miles Ray, Spalding, Spalding Public School

Alec Richards, Fremont, Fremont High School

Stephanie Ritta, Central City, Nebraska Christian High School

Anna Roth, Wood River, Centura High School

Laurel Rub, Norfolk, Norfolk Senior High School

Alexis Sieh, Stanton, Stanton High School

Brady Sillman, Omaha, Millard South High School

Jeffrey Sladky, Oxford, Southern Valley High School

Kalie Sprouls, Wayne, Wayne High School

Bradley Wallick, Osmond, Osmond Community School

Joseph Whitt, Wayne, Wayne High School


The Nebraska State College System serves close to 8,600 students from Nebraska and the surrounding states through three geographically diverse institutions: Chadron State College, Peru State College, and Wayne State College. Combined, the three colleges offer more than 200 degree, certificate, and pre-professional programs that are accessible on the three campuses, via the Internet, and in several satellite locations throughout the state. With more than 250 credentialed faculty members and 50,000 successful graduates, the Nebraska State College System provides significant human and intellectual capital that contributes to the current and future economic strength of the State of Nebraska.