ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND ACTION\ACADEMIC AND PERSONNEL

April 23, 2020

ACTION: Approve Teaching Excellence Award Nomination

Since 1984, the NSCS Board of Trustees has recognized teaching excellence in the State College System annually, through the Teaching Excellence Award. The award is given to one faculty member from the System and includes public recognition of the recipient and a \$3,000 cash award.

The criteria used to make the selection includes demonstrated teaching effectiveness, positive record of academic advising, professional development applied to effective teaching, high quality courses, and professional contributions to students, the College, and the community.

Each College nominates one candidate for the Award. The Academic & Personnel Committee evaluates the three nominees and recommends one candidate to the full Board. The name of the recipient is announced by the Board, with the recipient recognized during his/her College's spring commencement program. The award is formally presented to the faculty member at his/her college during the Board meeting held the following academic year.

Teaching Excellence Award Nominees for 2020

Chadron State College Dr. Beth Wentworth, Professor of Mathematical and Natural

Sciences

Peru State College Dr. Darolyn Seay, Associate Professor of Education

Wayne State College Dr. Don Hickey, Professor of History

The System Office recommends approval of the Teaching Excellence Award Nomination.

Updated: 3/4/2020 10:19 AM Page 1