ITEMS FOR DISCUSSION AND ACTION\ACADEMIC AND PERSONNEL

March 17, 2021

ACTION: Approve Teaching Excellence Award Nomination

Since 1984, the NSCS Board of Trustees has recognized teaching excellence in the State College System annually, through the Teaching Excellence Award. The award is given to one faculty member from the System and includes public recognition of the recipient and a \$3,000 cash award.

The criteria used to make the selection includes demonstrated teaching effectiveness, positive record of academic advising, professional development applied to effective teaching, high quality courses, and professional contributions to students, the College, and the community.

Each College nominates one candidate for the Award. The Academic & Personnel Committee evaluates the three nominees and recommends one candidate to the full Board. The name of the recipient is announced by the Board, with the recipient recognized during his/her College's spring commencement program. The award is formally presented to the faculty member at his/her college during the Board meeting held the following academic year.

Teaching Excellence Award Nominees for 2021

Chadron State College Dr. Shaunda French-Collins, Associate Professor of

Communications

Peru State College Dr. Gul Ahmad, Associate Professor of Biology

Wayne State College Dr. Dan Miller, Professor of Psychology

The System Office recommends approval of the Teaching Excellence Award Nomination.

ATTACHMENTS:

NSCS Teaching Excellence Award Recipients (PDF)

Updated: 2/10/2021 11:45 AM Page 1



CHADRON | PERU | WAYNE

Teaching Excellence Award Recipients

2020	Beth Wentworth, CSC, Mathematics	2002	Sarah Crook, PSC, Social Science
2019	Tracy Nobiling, CSC, Justice Studies	2001	Deborah Whitt, WSC, Communications
2018	Randy Bertolas, WSC, Geography	2000	Dan Holtz, PSC, English
2017	Glenn Kietzmann, WSC, Biology	1999	Barbara Limbach, CSC, Business/Econ
2016	Bruce Hoem, CSC, CPSW	1998	Patricia Cruzeiro, CSC, Education
2015	James Wada, CSC, Criminal Justice	1997	Pearl Hansen, WSC, Art
2014	Laura Dendinger, WSC, Business	1996	Dan Cox, PSC, Education
2013	G.W. Sandy Schaefer, CSC, Music	1995	Ken Halsey, WSC, Business
2012	Michael B. Leite, CSC, Geoscience	1994	Charollene Coates, CSC, Education
2011	Christy L. Hutchison, PSC, Business	1993	Lois Veath, CSC, Physics
2010	Greg Galardi, PSC, Criminal Justice	1992	Carol Pappas, PSC, Biology
2009	Michael Barger, PSC, Biology	1991	Russ Rasmussen, WSC, Chemistry
2008	Todd Young, WSC, Physics	1990	Don Welch, KSC, Poetry
2007	Tamara Womer, WSC, Mathematics	1989	Cornell Runestad, WSC, Music
2006	Jason Karsky, WSC, Criminal Justice	1988	Don Kaufman, KSC, Chemistry
2005	Mary Ettel, WSC, Chemistry	1987	George Watson, CSC, Criminal Justice
2004	Robert Stack CSC, Mathematics	1986	Cliff Ginn, WSC, Political Science
2003	Jean Karlen, WSC, Sociology	1985	Robert Lind, KSC, Geography
		1	