Board Members

Gary Bieganski - Chair

706 Bordeaux Road, Chadron, NE  (69337)  (308) 432-5201

Trustee BIeganski is president emeritus of the Community Hospital in McCook. He has served on numerous boards throughout the state. Trustee Bieganski was appointed to the Board in May of 2006 to complete the term vacated by Steve Lewis. He is a graduate of Chadron State College.

Jess Zeiss - Vice Chair

1620 Dodge Street, #1104, Omaha, NE  (68197)  (402) 602-7483

Trustee Zeiss is managing director at First National Capital Markets. He is a graduate of Doane College and the Stonier Graduate School of Banking. Trustee Zeiss was appointed in February 2014 to complete the term vacated by William Roskens.

John Chaney

Office: Auburn State Bank, PO Box 328, Auburn, NE  (68305)  (402)274-4342

Trustee Chaney is retired CEO of Auburn State Bank.  He is a graduate of the University of Nebraska and a graduate of the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin.  Trustee Chaney was appointed to the Board in January 2012.

Bob Engles

Office: 913 Central Avenue, Auburn, NE  (68305) (402)274-5100

Trustee Engles is owner of Engles Agency in Auburn, NE.  He was appointed to complete the term vacated by Floyd Vrtiska in March of 2011 and reappointed in January 2012.  Trustee Engles is a graduate of Peru State College.

Carter "Cap" Peterson

Office: Northeast NE Insurance Agency Inc., PO Box 100, Wayne, NE  (68787) (402) 375-2696

Trustee Peterson is owner of Northeast NE Insurance Agency, Inc. and Antiques on Main in Wayne.  Trustee Peterson is a graduate of Wayne State College and a former adjunct instructor. He was appointed to the Board in January of 2005.

Michelle Suarez

2427 Woodsdale Boulevard, Lincoln, NE  (68502)  (402) 432-2508

Trustee Suarez is an Early Childhood Developer for Prosper Lincoln. She holds a bachelor of science degree and a master's degree in educational administration from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Trustee Suarez was appointed to complete the term vacated by Willa Kosman in December of 2007.

Matt Blomstedt

Office: 301 Centennial Mall South, 6th Floor, Lincoln (68509) (402) 471-5020

Trustee Blomstedt is the State Commissioner of Education. As Commissioner of Education, Dr. Blomstedt is an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

Coy Clark, Chadron State College Student Trustee

A junior majoring in justice studies -- legal studies, Coy is sitting as Chief Justice of the Student Association Court. He is also a senior resident advisor and peer tutor for Legal Studies and Criminal Justice.

Treyten Nelson, Peru State College Student Trustee

A freshman majoring in business management, marketing and computer and management information systems, Treyten serves on the Student Senate. He is also a residence hall association executive board member and president of Delzell Hall.

Henry Miller, Wayne State College Student Trustee

A junior majoring in speech communications (organizational leadership and public relations) and sociology, Henry is a student tutor at the Nebraska Indian Community College in Santee. He is also a member of Lambda Pi Eta honor society.