NSCS Advantage

The Nebraska State College System Advantage offers a way for the Nebraska State College System to serve students, area communities and the state of Nebraska. The NSCS Advantage guarantees that first-time freshmen students who receive federal Pell Grants will pay no tuition at Chadron, Peru or Wayne State College.  The award is renewable.

To receive the NSCS Advantage, a student must be:

  • A resident of Nebraska
  • A federal Pell Grant recipient
  • Enrolled in at least 12 on-campus credit hours

A student who has attended any other college (outside of the Nebraska State College System) is a transfer student and not considered a first-time freshman, so he or she is not eligible for the NSCS Advantage.

The award is limited to a maximum of 16 credit hours per semester.

Additional limitations are in place for the award of any remissions for online courses taken in addition to the 12 on-campus credit hours. The award is not available for transfer students.

The NSCS Advantage provides the difference between the cost of tuition and the amount of all other awards. Other awards include:

  • Pell
  • Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (SEOG)
  • Nebraska Scholarship Grant (NSG)
  • Academic Competitiveness Grant (ACG)
  • Institutional waivers
  • Foundation scholarship assistance
  • Community award
  • Other awards from outside the college

Participation is limited to semesters during which a Pell Grant is received.

Each of the colleges will review the FAFSA submitted by the students receiving a Pell Grant to determine the difference and apply that toward the student’s bills.


The Nebraska State College System works to keep our institutions affordable for students and families.

View Cost of Attendance


NSCS Scholarships

The Nebraska State College System offers three system-wide scholarships including the Board of Trustees Scholarship, Governor's Opportunity Award and the Davis- Chambers Student Scholarship.

Learn More